Department of Education


Our Division


We dream of Filipinos who passionately love their country and whose values and competencies enable them to realize their full potential and contribute meaningfully to building the nation.

As a learner-centered public institution, the Department of Education continuously improves itself to better serve its stakeholders.


To protect and promote the right of every Filipino to quality, equitable, culture-based, and complete basic education where:

Students learn in a child-friendly, gender-sensitive, safe, and motivating environment.

Teachers facilitate learning and constantly nurture every learner.

Administrators and staff, as stewards of the institution, ensure an enabling and supportive environment for effective learning to happen.

Family, community, and other stakeholders are actively engaged and share responsibility for developing life-long learners.

Our Core Values



Davao del Norte is strategically located at the southeastern part of Region XI, bounded by Compostela Valley on the northeast, Bukidnon on the northwest, Davao City and Davao Gulf on the south. It became a province on May 8, 1967 by virtue of R.A. 4867, together with the creation of Davao Oriental and Davao del Sur.

With the creation of the province, this also prompted the establishment of the Division of Davao del Norte, as a mother division of Davao Oriental and Davao del Sur, with its first Schools Division Superintendent, Mr. Valerio V. Fernandez, whose area of supervision included the divisions of Davao Oriental and Davao del Sur.

In order to facilitate the speedy development of the region, the Division of Compostela Valley was born on June 28, 1999 after the creation of the Province of Compostela Valley by virtue of R.A. 8470 on January 31, 1998.

Pursuant to R.A. 8471, the Island Garden City of Samal was created as a chartered city of Davao del Norte on January 30, 1998 and through Sanggunian Panlungsod Resolution No. 074-A, series 2003, an Interim City Division of IGACOS was born on August 19, 1999.

Together with the creation of IGACOS, another city was created by virtue of R.A. 8472 on January 30, 1998 and eventually the Tagum City Division was established on June 3, 2003.

Because of the creation of new schools divisions, Davao del Norte division is currently composed of 11 districts, 185 public elementary schools, 41 public secondary schools, 18 public integrated schools, 24 private elementary schools, 12 private secondary schools, 18 public pre-schools and 21 private pre-schools.

The following have been the Superintendents of Davao del Norte since its creation up to the present:

Valerio V. Fernandez  
Hermogenes Hipolito
Restituto S. Viloria  
Eulalia B. Basanes 
Dr. Teofilo E. Gomez  
Ramon Y. Alba  
Natividad V. Sarenas  
Prudencio N. Mabanglo 
Susana Teresa B. Estigoy 
Dr. Gloria P. Labor  
Dr. Aurora B. Cubero
Cristy C. Epe
Dr. Josephine L. Fadul
Dee D. Silva, DPA
Reynaldo B. Mellorida

1967 – 1969
1969 - 1970
1970 - 1982
1982 - 1983
1983 - 1986
1986 - 1987
1987 - 1989
1989 - 1997
1997 - 2001
2001 - 2003
2003 - 2012
2012 - 2012
2012 - 2019
2019 - 2022
2022 - present